Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » Laws » Know the Florida Minimum Wage

Know the Florida Minimum Wage

Listen
In the state of Florida, the Florida Minimum Wage Act governs the specified minimum wage rates. The Florida minimum wage is currently identical to the national minimum wage. Therefore, individuals who are employed in the state of Florida are usually eligible to receive the minimum wage of $7.25 for every hour worked.In Florida, the law states that employers are required to pay the federal minimum wage rate if the federal rate is higher, and the state minimum wage rate, if the state specified rate is higher. As of 2010, the Florida minimum wage rate was equal to the federal minimum wage rate.Not all individuals who are employed within the state of Florida are eligible to receive minimum wage rates. If an individual does not meet the eligibility requirements, he/she can legally be paid less than the Florida minimum wage and the national minimum wage. There are certain individuals who do not qualify to receive the designated Florida minimum wage rates. For example, the Florida Minimum Wage Act states that farm workers, seasonal workers, babysitters, and newspaper deliverers are not required to be provided with minimum wage rates. Therefore, employers are able to pay individuals working in these positions less than the minimum wage. In addition, individuals who are working in positions in which they receive tips for their service, only need to be paid $4.23 for each hour that they work. If an employer fails to adhere to the specifications outlined in the Florida Minimum Wage Act, a civil suit may be filed against him/her
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • Florida Minimum Wage

    In the state of Florida, the Florida Minimum Wage Act governs the specified minimum wage rates. The Florida minimum wage is currently identical to the national minimum wage. Therefore, individuals who are employed in the state of Florida are usually eligible to receive the minimum wage of $7.25 for every hour worked.

    In Florida, the law states that employers are required to pay the federal minimum wage rate if the federal rate is higher, and the state minimum wage rate, if the state specified rate is higher. As of 2010, the Florida minimum wage rate was equal to the federal minimum wage rate.

    Not all individuals who are employed within the state of Florida are eligible to receive minimum wage rates. If an individual does not meet the eligibility requirements, he/she can legally be paid less than the Florida minimum wage and the national minimum wage.

    There are certain individuals who do not qualify to receive the designated Florida minimum wage rates. For example, the Florida Minimum Wage Act states that farm workers, seasonal workers, babysitters, and newspaper deliverers are not required to be provided with minimum wage rates.

    Therefore, employers are able to pay individuals working in these positions less than the minimum wage. In addition, individuals who are working in positions in which they receive tips for their service, only need to be paid $4.23 for each hour that they work. If an employer fails to adhere to the specifications outlined in the Florida Minimum Wage Act, a civil suit may be filed against him/her

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips