Quick Guide to Minimum Wage in Ohio
Minimum Wage in Ohio
Minimum wages in Ohio have recently changed under the Ohio Constitution, and laws are expected to change again at the end of the third quarter in 2012. This article will discuss such changes to minimum wage in Ohio, as well as Ohio laws surrounding the rate of payment and violations from an employer.
Amounts of Minimum Wages in Ohio
If you receive tips, as in any other states and under federal law, you will make less amounts of minimum wage in Ohio than individuals who are not tipped. As of January 1, 2012, the minimum wages in Ohio for non-tipped employees rose from $7.40 to $7.70 and from $3.70 to $3.85 for tipped employees (plus tips).
The rate will again increase in 2013 because an amendment in the Ohio Constitution in 2006 stated that minimum wage should increase every 1st of the year in relation to inflation. However, minimum wages in Ohio will only increase for employees working under a company that grosses more than $283,000 per year.
If the employee works for a smaller company that grosses less than $283,000 (in 2012), they may receive the federal minimum wage, which has been $7.25 since 2009. If a 14- or 15-year-old works for a company (regardless of its annual gross income) the minor is subject to federal minimum wage laws.
Laws Regarding Minimum Wage in Ohio
Chapter 4111: Minimum Fair Wage Standards under the Ohio Revised Code addresses laws for minimum wage in Ohio. These laws specify minimum wages in Ohio are set forth by the State Constitution, but certain sections of this chapter lay out procedures and rights in wage investigations and violations. Some of these laws are described below:
4111.04 Director of commerce—wage investigations—inspection of employer records
This section allows the director of commerce within the state of Ohio to investigate any employer and their actual wages to employees. If the employer is audited and the director of commerce or federal agency believes there is a discrepancy between the figures on paper and the actual figures, the employer will have to refund employees for lack of payments.
If an employer prohibits the director or federal agency from investigating their minimum wages in Ohio, the director or agency has the right to rile subpoenas and retrieve papers, books, accounts, payrolls, documents, records, and testimony from any witnesses.
4111.08 Employers to keep records
According to this rule under the Ohio Revised Code, every employer within the state must keep all of the following documents for at least three years at a time:
• names and addresses
• occupations of each employee
• the rate of pay and the amount paid each pay period
• the hours worked each day and each work week by each employee
• any other information under sections 4111.01 to 4111.17
There are other rules that address minimum wage in Ohio, and you can find these rules at the following link.