Quick Guide to Minimum Wage in Connecticut
Minimum Wage in Connecticut
The current minimum wage in Connecticut is $8.25 per hour—one of the highest in the nation—and there are multiple state and federal laws that adjust the wage according to qualifications of the employee. This article will discuss the different minimum wages in Connecticut, laws that address the minimum wage, and steps to take for filing a wage claim against an employer.
Minimum Wages in Connecticut for Service Employees
The pay rates for servers and bartenders are different in the state of CT. The minimum wage in Connecticut for a server is $5.69 and there is a 31% tip deduction. A bartender will receive a minimum wage of $7.34 and have an 11% tip deduction. For more information on these minimum wages in Connecticut, visit Section 31-60 of the state’s General Statutes.
Laws that Address Minimum Wages in Connecticut
There are multiple laws under Section 31 of the General Statutes that address exemptions, varying rates, and more. Some important laws are discussed below, but for a complete list of laws on minimum wage in Connecticut, visit the following link.
Section 31-58a Minimum wage for minors in government or agricultural employment
This law indicates that employee between the ages of 16 and 18 who work for a state or political subdivision can be paid 85% of the establish minimum wage. Additionally, workers between the ages of 14 and 18 who worked for an employer who employed 7 or less employees can receive 75% of the establish minimum wage in Connecticut.
Section 31-65 Modification of orders
This law states the following about the Commissioner and minimum wages in Connecticut:
“The commissioner may, from time to time, propose such modification of or additions to any administrative regulations included in any order of the commissioner, without reference to a wage board, as he or she deems appropriate to effectuate the purposes of this part, provided such proposed modifications or additions could legally have been included in the original order…”
If the Commissioner does decide to modify regulated wages, he or she must give notice at a public hearing no less than 15 days after the publication where oppositions and modifications may be heard.
Although Connecticut has one of the highest minimum wages in the United States, the amounts can change from year to year. The minimum wage is projected to stay the same throughout 2013, but again, a Commissioner can make modifications whenever they feel necessary.
Filing a Wage Claim
If you believe your employer has violated laws for minimum wage in Connecticut, you’ll have to file a wage complaint with the Wage and Workplace Standards Division. In order to obtain the proper form for the wage claim against unlawful minimum wages in Connecticut, you can visit the following website.
Make sure you follow all instructions on this website as well. These instructions are extremely important, and you can call the Wage and Workplace Standards Division at (860) 263-6790 if you need help completing the forms.
Quick Guide to Minimum Wage in North Carolina
Minimum Wage in North Carolina
There are multiple state and federal laws that apply differently to certain employers in the state. This article will discuss the different minimum wages in North Carolina, as well as specific information on North Carolina General Statutes and procedures for filing a claim against an employer.
What is the Minimum Wage in North Carolina?
G.S. 95-25.3 Minimum Wage discusses the different minimum wages in North Carolina:
(a) This section was repealed in 2006 and changed the minimum wage from $6.15 per hour to $7.25 per hour in 2009. All other sections below apply to current minimum wages in North Carolina.
(b) The wage rate for full-time student, learners, apprentices, and messengers, hall be 90 percent of the current minimum wage and rounded to the lowest nickel
(c) The Commissioner may at any time establish a wage rate less than the minimum wage in North Carolina for people with impaired production capacity or who are impaired by age, physical or mental deficiency or injury
(d) The Commissioner may establish a wage rate of 85% of the current minimum wage in North Carolina for those who have been unemployed for at least 15 weeks, are receiving Work First Family Assistance, or who are receiving benefits under Title XVI of the Social Security Act
(e) The Commissioner may establish at any time minimum wages in North Carolina at 85% of the normal minimum wage for those who are employed for seasonal amusement, by a recreational establishment, or a food service establishment
(f) Tipped employees minimum wage in North Carolina shall be a cash wage of $2.13 and a tip credit of $5.12. This statute also states than a tipped employee can keep all of their tips if notified in advance by the employer who maintains complete and accurate records. If there is tip pooling, no employees tips may be reduced by more than 15%.
Statute 95-25.7A Wages in dispute is also a very important statute for employees. The statute states the following about claiming minimum wages in North Carolina:
“If the amount of wages is in dispute, the employer shall pay the wage, or that part of the wages, which the employer concedes to be due without condition, within the time set by this Article.”
Section (b) extends the employee’s rights and states that acceptance of partial payment for wages does not constitute a release of the balance in the claim.
How do I file a Wage Claim?
If you believe you have been denied minimum wages in North Carolina, you can file a claim with the North Carolina Department of Labor. If you want to file a claim for the minimum wage in North Carolina, the wage payment must be more than $50 and you must wait 10 days if the wages were on your last paycheck. Call (919) 807-2796 to file a claim.
Quick Guide to Mississippi Minimum Wage
Minimum Wages in Mississippi
The state of Mississippi is one of five states that do not have a state mandated minimum wage. Instead, all employees and employers within the state of Mississippi must regard rules under the federal Fair Labor and Standards Act.
Currently, and in connection with the FLSA, the current minimum wage in Mississippi is $7.25 per hour. However, minimum wages in Mississippi for tipped employees are quite different. “Tipped employees” may have a cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour if the tip credit is at least equal to minimum wage. If the employee does not make equal to minimum wage, the employer is responsible for compensating the remainder of the minimum wages in Mississippi.
There are certain exemptions discussed within this article, as well as more information provided by Department of Labor in this article as well.
Overtime Minimum Wage in Mississippi
The current overtime minimum wage in Mississippi is $10.90 when rounded to the nearest nickel. Mandatory overtime is often required if the employer places such provisions within an employer/employee contract. If an employee believes they have not been provided within overtime pay or fair wages in general, they can claim backed minimum wages in Mississippi by filing a wage claim.
Can an Employer pay a smaller minimum wage in Mississippi for training employees?
If an employee under the age of 20 has worked 90 days or less, an employer may pay a minimum wage in Mississippi of at least $4.25 per hour. This type of payment is not the same as federal “training wage,” and if an employee has quit and then decided to return to work, the 90-day training wage does not start over again.
Additionally, some full-time students, student learner, apprentices, and workers within disabilities may receives less minimum wages in Mississippi under certificates issued by the Department of Labor.
Minimum Wages in Mississippi for Minors
Many minors won’t qualify for overtime minimum wage in Mississippi because of federal child labor laws. For example, a person has to been at least 16 to work in most non-farm related jobs, and a person under the age of 18 cannot work in hazardous professions.
However, some minors the age of 14 and 15 can work outside of school hours in certain industries, but they cannot work in hazardous jobs and they cannot receive overtime minimum wages in Mississippi in any circumstances.
A person who is 14 or 15 in the state of MS cannot work more than 3 hours on a school day or 18 hours during the school week. Additionally, a person the age of 14 or 15 cannot work more than 8 hours on a non-school day or 40 hours during a non-school week.
What will happen to my employer if the violate wage laws?
If an employer violates minimum wage laws or overtime laws, they can receive a fine up to $11,000 for each employee and up to $50,000 for each violation of child labor that cause serious injury to the minor workers.
Quick Guide to Arkansas Unemployment Insurance
Arkansas Unemployment Benefits
The state of Arkansas provides the public with a large amount of user friendly resources, as well as useful information about the entirety of Arkansas unemployment benefit. The majority of information on this website is referenced from the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services, and you should regard the following website for all services offered under the DWS:
Am I Eligible to Receive Arkansas Unemployment Benefits?
After you file a claim with the State Department of Workforce Services Office, you’ll have to meet certain eligibility factors in order to receive an Arkansas unemployment benefit. The eligibility factors under the DWS are listed below:
2. physically and mentally able to perform suitable work
3. Available for suitable work
4. Making a reasonable effort to find work
5. Free of participation or direct interest in a labor dispute
6. Free of disqualification
Additionally, you must file an Arkansas unemployment benefit claim a week before you can start receiving compensation through the DWS. During the one full workweek, you will have to meet eligibility factors, make less than 140% the wages you had in your last job, and remain qualified. After you have met all qualifications for Arkansas unemployment benefits, you can begin receiving direct deposit from the state.
What Helpful Resources are under the Arkansas DWS?
The DWS provides a large list of helpful resources for Arkansas unemployment benefits, and most of these resources are explained in this article. For more information on about an Arkansas unemployment benefit, visit the link provided.
How can I make my weekly claim for UI benefits in Arkansas?
You can either make your weekly claim by telephone or over the internet. In order to make a claim over the phone, you’ll have to contact the ArkLine at (501) 907-2590 if you are the applicant or (501) 907-2591 if you are the employer. With these services, you can receive general information about Arkansas unemployment benefits, information about your claim inquiry, or about filing a continuing claim.
In order to file a continuing weekly claim over the internet for an Arkansas unemployment benefit, you can use the ArkNet tool under the DWS. Reference the following website to help you with filing over the internet:
Can I file the first claim over the internet?
You can use the EZARC (Easy Arkansas Claims) tool under the DWS to file your first claim over the internet. You’ll have to have your name and mailing address, social security number, name and address of your last employer, and the last day you worked and your reason for no longer working in order to make the first claim for an Arkansas unemployment benefit. For more information on this tool, visit the following website.
Can I Receive Arkansas Unemployment Benefits after a Natural Disaster?
The Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is a federally-funded program that allows jobless workers and self employed workers to file for UI when their unemployment was a direct result of a natural disaster. For more information, visit the following website.
Quick Guide to Arkansas Disability Insurance
The majority of Arkansas disability claims fall under social security, and the Disability Determination for Social Security Administration is a statewide program that helps the federal program determine eligibility. If some qualifies for Arkansas disabilities insurance, the federal program will still issue checks and payments instead of the state.
This article will discuss valuable information for anyone thinking about filing for Arkansas disabilities insurance, and for more valuable information, visit the following website under the DDSSA:
Common Arkansas Disability Fraud
Like other states, there are common types of Arkansas disabilities schemes:
1. Faking an injury or illness- This is the most common type of fraud. It is easy to fake an injury or illness, and even with the help of professional medical testimony, the fact that a worker might be faking an injury is often hard to detect.
2. Working while on disability- In Arkansas, many people are caught working while still receiving Arkansas disability insurance. They may work under the table or even do the same job they were doing before, and although a person may work while receiving payments, they can’t work more than a specified amount of hours or outside of a specified job.
3. Collecting Arkansas disabilities payments after healed- this type of fraud is normally easily detectable, but many people will try to receive payments after they have been cleared.
There are a number of eligibility factors that the federal government will examine, and a more complex investigation will be held by the state unless the need for Arkansas disability through SSDI or SSI is obvious. The federal government will examine the following eligibility factors:
• the disabled insured work must be under the age of 65
• a person who became disabled under the age of 22 must be dependent of a deceased insured parent or a parent with title II disability or retirement benefits
• the person is a disabled widow or widower between the age of 50-60 and the deceased spouse was insured under Social Security
There are other programs and grants for numerous other types of Arkansas disabilities, but as mentioned above, the majority of claims made within the state are under Social Security.
What is the General Process of Filing for Disability?
In order to file for federal social security within the state of Arkansas, you’ll first have to submit a claim by mail, telephone, or in person to any Federal Social Security Office within AR. If the FSSO approves the claim for Arkansas disabilities, the application will then be referred to the DDS who will meet with the claimant.
If the claims process through the FSSO is uncomplicated, the process will only take 5 to 10 days under the federal government, and the DDS will take about 3 months to file the case. If the claimant is first denied and then reconsidered for Arkansas disability, the reconsideration process can take up to 4 more moths. If there is an appeals process, the process can even take a whole year to complete.
Quick Guide to Minimum Wage in Arkansas
Minimum Wage in Arkansas
There are numerous laws throughout Arkansas statutes that address minimum wages in Arkansas. Section of state law will be discussed in this article that address minimum wage in Arkansas, as well as information about wage disputes.
Statutes Addressing Minimum Wages in Arkansas
As mentioned above, there are multiple laws that address wages within the state. The statutes listed below offer a brief overview of these laws:
11-4-210 Minimum Wage
Section (a) of this law states that following:
“Beginning October 1, 2006, every employer shall pay each of his or her employees wage at the rate of not less than six dollars and twenty-five cents ($6.25) per hour except as otherwise provided in this subchapter.”
The second section of this law states that minimum wages in Arkansas are sometimes less for full-time students. If the full-time student work 20 hours or less a week and attends an accredited institution within the state, the rate of wage shall be no less than 85% of the normal minimum wage in Arkansas. This section does not apply when students are on breaks between semesters.
Section 11-4-212 Allowance for gratuities
This section of laws on minimum wages in Arkansas addresses the payment of wages to employee who make a significant percentage of their wages on tips. The first section of this law states than an employee who makes at least $3.62 per hour from gratuities can be paid a minimum wage of at least $2.63 per hour.
Additionally, if an employee made less than minimum wage after all gratuities and adjusted minimum wage in Arkansas, an employer is responsible for providing compensation for the difference. The Director of the Department of Labor is allowed to have an employer show satisfaction of such a measure.
Section 11-4-213 Allowance for furnishing board, lodging, apparel, etc
The first section of this law on minimum wages in Arkansas states the following:
“Every employer of an employer engaged in any occupation in which board, lodging, apparel, or other items and services are customarily and regularly furnished to the employee for his or her benefit shall be entitled to an allowance for the reasonable value of board, lodging, apparel, or other items and services as part of the hourly wage rate provided in 11-4-210 in an amount not to exceed thirty cents (30 cents) per hour.”
Filing Wage Claims for Backed Minimum Wage in Arkansas
According to section 11-4-220, any employee covered under law may file a claim with the Director of the Department of Labor if an employer has violated any laws and failed to provide the employee with the required minimum wages in Arkansas or any other payments. If a wage claim is made for minimum wage in Arkansas, the Director of the Department of Labor will promptly investigate a claim, and the name of an employee within the claim shall be kept confidential until the Director issues and administrative complaint and is ordered to release the information.
For more information on filing a wage claim, visit the website.