Home New York State Senate New York State Senate At A Glance

New York State Senate At A Glance

New York State Senate At A Glance

Within the United States, there is a United States Senate, which functions to debate, approve, oppose, and amend federal legislation. In addition, most states also maintain a state Senate. A state Senate is responsible for overseeing and regulating legislation on a state level. Any proposed law must be approved by the state Senate prior to being instated. The New York State Senate is the Senate that serves the state of New York.
Currently, the Democratic Party has control over the New York Senate, as it is the Majority Party. There are 32 Democratic New York Senators serving on the New York Senate, and 30 Republican Senators elected to the Senate. The number of Senators that comprise the New York Senate may vary from one period to another. Within this state Senate, elected Senators serve a term of two years, and can be reelected to the Senate for an unlimited number of terms.
The New York State Senate is currently composed of 62 Senators. These Senators are from all areas of New York, including Brooklyn, Albany, Poughkeepsie, and Queens. In addition, the state of New York has elected two Senators to serve on the United States Senate. The Senators who are serving at this time are Senator Charles Schumer and Senator Kirsten Gillibrand.
Both Senator Shumer and Senator Gillibrand are members of the Republican Party. Senator Gillibrand acts as the Junior New York representative, while Senator Shumer is a senior Senator, with extensive experience serving on the U.S. Senate. Prior to serving on the Senate, both Senator Schumer and Senator Gillibrand were elected to the U.S. House of Representatives. 



Previous articleYour Guide to The Senate Judiciary Committee
Next articleAZ Unemployment