Home Congress Members of Congress Explained

Members of Congress Explained

Members of Congress Explained

Congress in the United States is a bicameral legislature that is broken down into the Senate and the House of Representatives. The people who are seated members of these bodies are considered to be the members of congress.

Members of congress are elected officials; U.S. congress members elected to the Senate serve 6 year terms. There are only two senators per state in the United States. The other members of Congress, the individuals who are seated in the House of Representatives are also elected by the public. These individuals are representative figures of various districts per state, in the United States.

The districts are determined by prior districts, and the population of the state and within the specific regions. The proportion of representatives in the House of Representatives matches that of the state. This is why California has had around 53 members  of congress in the House of Representatives, while some states only have 3.

U.S. Congress members can also be elected into more specialized rolls within their respective bodies. For example, a member of senate can be elected into the position of President Pro Tempore of the Senate. The President Pro Tempore is the second-highest ranking official in the Senate; this individual facilitates the Senate sessions, and only has voting power in the Senate, in the instance of a tie.

U.S. Congress Members in the House of Representatives also have the chance to have a position of authority within the body; the House of Representatives coveted position is the Speaker of the House. The Speaker of the House is a high-authority figure, and has the ability to delegate responsibilities regarding the House procedures and discussion onto other members of congress, in the House. This individual is often one of the senior leaders, and is elected during a change in the majority party or if there is a vacancy of the seat during Congress.

Overall, U.S. Congress Members are elected officials who have sworn to uphold the constitution and protect the rights of the American public.